Archive for May 21st, 2009

Swine flu

Yeah, everyone was talking about it… some weeks ago. Just as I have a particular prejudice against best-sellers, it seems I also have a prejudice against “vogue” blogging topics. 

So I’m writing about it now, when a huge load of the fuzz is already gone, even though new cases continue to be identified and the risk is probably as high as before… anyway, I personally believe the issue was badly exploited by the media and the pharma industry; the public was given incomplete and frightening information, creating an unrealistic fear of a global health crisis…

Anyway, I don’t want to get into a debate over this. I just wanted to confirm that yes, work during those days was crazy because anyone who sneezed had to be isolated in order to prevent all the other sick-but-not-with-swine-flu patients from freaking out. Masks were sold in massive quantities by pharmacies, even those that wouldn’t work against the virus… The worst was to see how some would abuse the little understanding that elder people had about the disease and their risk, and would just convince them to spend their whole pension on useless artifacts to prevent a deadly granny-eating virus… ayy… 

Anyway, in the spirit of showing a big smile at the hard times, let me share with you this funny illustration:

Piglet- swine flu